Our History

History of Sylvan Hills Church of Christ


The Sylvan Hills congregation had its beginning in 1949. Several families began meeting in homes on Sunday afternoons and Wednesday nights.  W. W. Woody, minister for the Central congregation in Little Rock would preach for the Sunday afternoon worship. As interest grew in the congregation and the need for more space, the group started meeting in an army quanset hut that served as Sherwood's Community Center.


In 1951, property was purchased at the corner of Highway 5 (now highway 107) and Maryland Avenue. In 1952, the first auditorium was built.  Over the years, as the church and it's ministries have grown, we have acquired several surrounding pieces of property.  The church now owns approx. 13 acres of land with many buildings surrounding the corner of Hwy 107 and West Maryland.


One might conclude that the church has a unique mixture of people, land and buildings. It is uncommon to find a church that has grown from 10 families to 310 families which still make use of its original land and buildings.




Vester Jenkins Family

Robert Davis Family

Wayne Couch Family

John Hale Family

Doug Freeman Family

W. J. Mourot family

G. C. Kerr Family

Art Kelly Family

Faye Joyners

Virgil McInturff Family




Clarence Fowler          1958---1960

Wilbur Arnold              1958---1973

W. J. "Buck" Pierce     1958---1988

Tom Edwards              1960---1962

Doug Freeman             1960---1982


Julius Baird                  1970

Bill Weeks                   1973---1982

Elvis Sherrill                 1973---1991

George Morris             1982---1988

Carrol Fletcher            1982---2007

Bill Owens                   1984---1988

Wallace Randle            1984---2008

Larry Sheehy               1988---1993

Jerry Copeland            1992---1995

Gary Hill                      1995---2006

Roy Buttrum                1995---Present

Larry Curtiss               2001---2007

Winston Horton           2001---Present

Allen Parker                2001---2008

Robert Wingfield        2001---2011

Michael Carger           2008---Present

Kyle McNeese            2008—Present

Doug Childress           2008---Present

Mike Marlar               2008---Present

Mike Mason               2008---Present

Jim Couch                  2013---Present

Mark Fonville            2013---Present



Sam Harper                 1950---1953

Carrol Lumpkin           1953---1955

Worley Ferguson         1955---1958

Walter Calvert             1958---1960

Al Jolly                        1961---1968

Robert Wingfield         1968---1981

Mike King                   1981---1985

Allan Qualmann          1985---1991

Phil Thompson            1993---2004

Greg Clark                  2005---present

Direct Links

Contact Us

Sylvan Hills Church of Christ

117 W Maryland Ave

Sherwood, AR 72120


Phone: (501) 835-4141

Fax: (501) 835-2419


Or use our contact form.

Service Times

Sunday Morning

  • 9:00 Bible Class
  • 10:00 Worship

Sunday Evening

  • Various Off-Campus Small Groups

Wednesday Evening

  • 7:00 Bible Class

Office Hours

  • 8:00 to 4:00
    Monday through Friday


Print Print | Sitemap
© Sylvan Hills Church Of Christ